h1

A Pain in the Neck for Michael Schumacher

August 11, 2009

Michael_Schumacher,_Formula_1_Racing

No doubt I am not the only one that is very disappointed by the 7 times champ’s decision to pull the pin on his F1 return as a stand-in for the injured Felipe Massa.

It would have been an amazing thing to watch but sadly, Michael Schumacher is not going to be on the grid in Valencia, citing neck pain from a previous motorbike accident.

M.S went on to say that, Yesterday evening, I had to inform Ferrari President Luca di Montezemolo and team principal Stefano Domenicali that unfortunately I’m not able to step in for Felipe.”

“I really tried everything to make that temporary comeback possible, however, much to my regret it didn’t work out. Unfortunately we did not manage to get a grip on the pain in the neck which occurred after the private F1-day in Mugello, even if medically or therapeutically we tried everything possible. The consequences of the injuries caused by the bike-accident in February, fractures in the area of head and neck, unfortunately have turned out to be still too severe. That is why my neck cannot stand the extreme stresses caused by Formula One yet.”

“This are the clear results of the examinations we did on the course of the past two weeks and the final examination yesterday afternoon. As there were no improvements after the day in Mugello, I decided at short notice on Sunday to do that thorough examination already yesterday. I am disappointed to the core. I am awfully sorry for the guys of Ferrari and for all the fans which crossed fingers for me. I can only repeat that I tried everything that was within my power. All I can do now is to keep my fingers crossed for the whole team for the coming races.”

Disappointing news but what is done is done.

Ferrari will be in chaos right now trying to decide on who will stand in for Massa but they are spoiled for choice – they have Mark Gene and the incumbent Luca Badoer.

Both of them will do a fine job and are definitely more race ready but wouldnt it be great to see Kubica in the seat, now that he is on the market. for a one race special deal?

That would be a sure fire way to kick Raikonnen in the ass and get him moving again, wouldn’t it!¿

*EDIT*

It has just been announced that Luca Badoer will stand in for Massa in Valencia

Leave a Reply

