h1

Schumacher is Back

July 30, 2009

Amazing as it sounds, Michael Schumacher has confirmed he will be replacing Felipe Massa for the remainder of the season.

This news has taken everyone by surprise since Wili Weber said there was a 200% chance Michael would not return.

According to a Ferrari press release, “Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro intends to put Michael Schumacher in Felipe Massa’s car until the Brazilian driver will be able to race again. Michael Schumacher said he is ready and, over the next few days, will undertake a specific training program at the end of which confirmation will be given of his participation in the championship with effect from the European Grand Prix on the 23rd of August.”

Michael himself said that loyalty to the team and Felipe brought him back to the seat

“The most important thing first: thanks God, all news concerning Felipe are positive. I wish him all the best again. I was meeting this afternoon with Stefano Domenicali and Luca di Montezemolo and together we decided that I will prepare myself to take the place of Felipe. Though it is true that the chapter Formula 1 has been closed for me since long and completely, it is also true that for loyalty reasons to the team I cannot ignore that unfortunate situation. But as the competitor I am, I also very much look forward to facing this challenge.”


I am really excited to see the legend behind the wheel again. It has been a few years now since Michael retired so it will be intriguing to see if he still has what it takes both physically and mentally. I dont think he has lost anything personally and keep in mind the man is 40 years old so something like this is almost unheard of.

I realise that F1 has its large share of problems but this is a great boost to the morale of not just Ferrari but the entire paddock and the world that watches it.

I cannot wait for the European grand prix to be held in Valencia, Spain in 2 weeks time.

Leave a Reply

