h1

I’m a Noob and Minami is not scary.

May 8, 2009

Honest. There was nothing scary about it. Not in the slightest. It was crazy from the pitwall but strangely, not from the cockpit.

For me, the South course at Ebisu isn’t as deadly as many make it out to be. One person even said to me on the morning of the Saturday: “You can’t just rock up and go out at Minami”.

I was thinking, who the hell is this guy trying to tell me what I can and cannot do.

For me, it is as easy as rocking up, getting ready and going out.

Well, that’s the way I operate anyway and that approach has served me well over the years.

Apparently, in drift, you’re not cool until you crash but I don’t plan on it. In my mind and coming from a circuit racing background, crashing means you screwed up and that is nothing to boast about. Plus, why would I want my straight and clean car looking like a mangled missile? Sure it’s funny to see people chuck missiles around and smash them into the walls but that is purely because they don’t give a crap what happens to the car.

I do.

Allow me to be the first to admit, I made a lot of mistakes this weekend. Heaps of them. The good news is the car ran faultlessly all weekend despite being caned repeatedly, not a scratch was put on it and I learned a massive amount from the courses at Ebisu. It was the perfect start to drifting. The only dramas I encountered were adjusting tyre pressures and changing wheels!

Here are a few videos from the Sunday courtesy of Adam Truesdale from Feastauto group. Keep in mind this was my second ever day drifting.

Leave a Reply

