h1

Fitted a fully phat “sik ‘zorst bro” exhaust to the Forester Sti

May 7, 2009

It’s a rare beast. I betcha never seen a Gram Lights cannon before! Actually it’s a Gram Lights Dragon 57 Stainless Catback System.Why Dragon 57? Who knows? It is made in Japan remember?

I hadn’t even heard of them until recently myself.

gl1

gl2

I wasnt just going to pay ¥10,000 to fit it either – do it myself for nothing in 10 minutes.

That’s where my newly acquired Costco tool sets came in handy!😀

dsc_5610

Tool box and over 100 pieces for ¥5000. Who cares how long they last when the kit it that cheap?

I also bought a ratchet wrench set while I was there for under ¥3000 yen. They are angled, Cro mo, look the bizzo and do a decent job turning nuts.

dsc_5611

So with the car jacked up and some silicone spray added to the rubber grommets and nuts, it was time to do the transplant.

dsc_5591

OFF WITH THE HEAVY ASS STANDARD EXHAUST! What a joke the stocker is!

dsc_5585

With the old exhaust off, there is a noticable cavity left behind… Everything lined up perfectly though.

dsc_5597

It still looks very nice on the car though. The beveled tip droops slightly down and to the right. Much like me sometimes…

dsc_5592

One thing that stood out when fitting the Gram lights cat back was the need to drop the car at least 3 inches. That or the intake is going to be next.

dsc_5600

I’m really pleased with this system – its beautiful, light and well built not to mention very rare.

It was so damn lucky I came across one at all – especially lucky to source one for an SG9 Forester Sti. It’s hard enough finding aero parts for the bloody thing.

dsc_5593

Here is a video of the ‘zorst in action – I had to link to another video because my phones sound quality is crapola.I like the burble, not droney but bassy and could do with more rumble I think… where’s that centre pipe!😛

For some stupid reason the author of this video “disabled embedding by request”, What kind of person does that over an exhaust sound?

And I have to mention one last thing – go out to Costco all you Aussie beer lovers because I managed to find amber mana from heaven, Adelaide’s very own hand made beer, Coopers Pale Ale! So good…

Cheers!

dsc_5620

2 comments

  1. Great buy with that tool kit ahah. ¥5000 is a steal!

    Exhaust looks great!


  2. Impressive webpage, exactly where did you obtain the design?



Leave a Reply

